Lately…

20131114-134358.jpg

Still finding our groove with Mr being out at work (as opposed to work from home freelance). Me and the wee Chicken have had a cold for the last two weeks. She is now on antibiotics which is a bit rubbish, but hoping that the cause of her chesty cough is bacterial and not viral (therefore rendering the antibiotics a complete waste of time…).

Listening to: Old vinyl on our new (old) record player Nat King Cole, Pink Floyd, The Beatles, Little Richard.

Eating: Roast Chicken dinners, Beef stew mmmm. Comfort food at its best.

Doing: Walking. Making the most of the crisp sunny autumn days and breaking in my new Doc Martens (where did I put the Compeed plasters….). I had a pair of these patent black DM’s in 1993 (yeah, like, WELL before Daisy Lowe and Agnes Deyn rocked up in ’em). I can’t describe to you how evocative it was when I opened this new pair and sniffed the dark sturdy leather. The DM’s will have their own dedicated post. It’s THAT BIG in my life!

Reading: How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran, What Mothers do by Naomi Stadlen. Both awesome books – Moran makes the topic of feminism both engaging and accessible (and is happily and wantonly shouting in capitals all over that shit – henceforth, so shall I). Stadlen reminds me what I and the rest of society seem to have forgotten about how important, and FRICKIN’ BRILLIANT mums everywhere are!! Regardless of all that divisive crap over breastfeeding versus formula/pram Vs. wearing/cot vs. co-sleeping/disposable vs. cloth vs. EC* LAH-LAH-LAH the list goes on. If you are a Mum who loves your baba and are doing your best – YOU ROCK!

Drinking: Red wine and too much tea. My innards are getting a healthy tan, even if my face is not.

Dreaming about: Crochet’ing (sp. ?) a mustard yellow infinity scarf / snood. Can I find the correct yarn? No I can not. Suggestions of where to buy reasonably priced, non-acrylic yarn gratefully received.

20131114-134304.jpg

*EC = Elimination Communication. Nappy free babies!! No – I was not brave enough to try this one, even if I had been able to convince the Mr. One of my favourite bloggers, Lucy has written all about her nappy free adventures on lulastic.co.uk

One thought on “Lately…

Leave a Reply

